Brown Rice Pasta With Tofu And Vegetable Sauce

Hello All! 
I thought it would be nice to keep my cooking, vegan, health posts separate from the literature ones, so I created another blog. I will eventually get around to say something about myself, add pictures and more. 
Here goes my first post.
I was a little tired of the whole grain pasta I buy at the grocery store, so I went at the Asian store and was very happy to find brown rice pasta. With two ingridients only: brown rice and water. I was really creative with the sauce, and it has become a favorite dish at my home. I will put the ingridients and the recipe here, please feel free to add or ommit any ingridients. The texture of the brown rice pasta is so perfectly al dente, much better than whole wheat pasta, and you can use any sauce you like with it. The only fat in the dish comes from the cashews in the vegan kinda parm cheeese that I make, which is not my original recipe, you can find it on youtube: link here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MUi1FreN-84 I will put the recipe here also. 
Ingridients:

1 yellow onion

2 cloves of garlic

1 stick of celery

4-5 medium mushrooms of your choice, I used brown baby bella

1 green bell pepper

1 red bell pepper

2 cans of no salt added diced tomatoes I used organic

1 block of organic extra firm tofu (can ommit if you don’t like tofu.

Spices: turmeric powder, miso paste, soy sauce, ginger/garlic paste, red peperr flakes, salt and pepper, oregano

I used fresh dill and italian parlsy at the end.

Please feel free to use any combination of spices that you like.
For the vegan parm cheese: raw cashews 1 cup, 4 tbs nutritional yeast, 1 tbs garlic powder, pinch of salt: blend it. Again, the recipe is not mine, you can find it on youtube. 

Preparation

Sauté the chopped oninon with the celery by adding small quantities of water (technique can be found in the Forks over Knives website) 

Add the chopped garlic, sliced mushrooms, the green and red bell pepper and cook for a few minutes. Add dried spices at this point. Drain and cut the tofu into small cubes, and then add to the pot. I blended the 2 cans of diced tomatoes, but you can leave them as they are if you like. Cover and cook at low with tilted lid for 30 minutes. 

Meanwhile, bring water to boil, add brown rice pasta, and cook according to package instructions, then ricne under cold water for 1 minute. Add the pasta to the sauce pot mix it well and continue to cook on low for an additiona 15-20 minutes, until the pasta is at your desired consistency. Add the vegan parm cheese on top when you serve. Enjoy!

I do not use exact measures, and I tend to change my recipes every time I make them, so I apologize if the instructions are not so clear. Please feel free to ask questions and leave comments. Thank you! 🙂 

Leave a Reply

